December 15th

This weekend was really busy and I had several projects going on. I also didn’t have all the ingredients and had to go to the supermarket first. Therefore I am posting the Adventskalender posts a little late. But I am ready now. Hopefully I will be up to date by tonight or tomorrow.

When I was 6 or 7 years old, I joined the local girls scout group in Waldalgesheim, a little village where I grew up. I have great memories, like going on a one week camping trip ( I was already a bit older) without my parents with camp fires, singing, earning badges and night walks, which were soooooo adventurous at the time for me or having butterflies in the stomach shortly before the annual Christmas show in the village hall. When I start thinking about it, the memories are coming back and I could go on and on about it. It was such a great time, but to make a long story short… I remember baking different cookies together one year and this recipe kind of stuck. I made these crunchy chocolate clusters afterwards (or maybe even before) with my family, but when I think about this recipe, I always think about this day…

It is easy and fast and lots of fun to make with the children.

Ingredients

1 cup corn flakes

8 ounces chocolate morsels ( I used dark chocolate)

Preparation

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside. Cover the bottom of a saucepan with water and heat it over low heat until it begins to simmer. Place a bowl with chocolate morsels over the water and let the chocolate melt. (You want enough water to provide heat, but not so much that the bottom of the chocolate bowl touches the water.)

Add the corn flakes and stir until they are completely covered with chocolate.

Using two tablespoons drop small clusters of chocolate mixture onto prepared baking sheet. To speed up the process, let it cool 20 minutes in the fridge.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

