December 4th

I love to bake cookies from scratch. But “scratchier” than this is impossible….

I got a couple coconuts from a palm tree from the garden of my parents and made coconut macaroons out of it. You can use store-bought shredded coconut, which would make this recipe much faster, but since we have a tree in the garden (that is actually “my tree” which I chose at Home Depot and helped to plant more than 15 years ago…), I thought it would be fun to use the coconuts in the “Baking Adventskalender”.

I let my father break open the coconuts. There are many suggestions in the internet on how to open coconuts, but nevertheless it is hard work and messy. I rather concentrate on the baking part. After he removed the shells and reserved the coconut milk, I tasted a piece and it was delicious.

I removed the thin brown layer which you could actually eat and shredded the coconuts. To make the coconut taste like the store-bought sweetened coconut flakes or actually much better, I added some of the coconut milk and powdered sugar. Now it was ready to be used for baking.

Recipe

Ingredients

14 ounces (1 package) sweetened coconut flakes or fresh coconut flakes (already sweetened)

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

4 – 5 large eggs

1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk

 

Preparation

Preheat the oven like always to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a medium bowl, combine sweetened coconut, vanilla extract and condensed milk to form a thick paste. In a separate bowl beat the egg whites (with or without cream of tartar) until they become very stiff. Carefully combine the eggs with the coconut mixture. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto parchment paper lined cookie sheets, about 2 inches apart. Bake for about 15 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.

Depending on the brand of coconut flakes used, this can also be a gluten free recipe.

Categories: Baking, Christmas, gluten free | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

